Blog Details

28 Aug

Vizag Metro - Emerging Stronger and Larger than Imagined, Launching a New Era on January 15, 2024

Visakhapatnam (Vizag) Light Metro is an urban Light Rail Transit (LRT) system with 3 lines & 31 stations proposed to be built in Visakhapatnam (Vizag), Andhra Pradesh by the Andhra Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation (APMRC) earlier known as Amaravati Metro Rail Corporation (AMRC).

Its 42.54 km Phase 1’s Detailed Project Report (DPR) with 3 elevated lines was originally prepared by the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) who was also assigned to execute the project in September 2015.

In 2017, the project was put on hold due to its high cost and low ridership projections which were not in line with the Government of India’s new Metro Rail Policy. In addition, the AP government had given priority to Vijayawada’s metro.

In December 2019, the AP government decided to appoint a new consultant to prepare the project’s new/revised Detailed Project Report for a 79.91 km Phase 1 for implementation under the public–private partnership (PPP) model with an estimated cost of Rs. 8,300 cr. In March 2020, Urban Mass Transit Company Limited (UMTC) was announced by AMRC as the winner to prepare Vizag Metro’s new DPR.


Key Figures

Proposed: 79.91 km, This increased the length of the project to nearly 140 kilometers (metro for nearly 80 kilometers and tram corridors for about 60 kilometers)

Visakhapatnam Metro Phase 1 Routes

Line-1: Gajuwaka – Kommadi

Length: 30.38 km

Type: Elevated

Number of Stations: 18

Station Names: Kommadi Junction, Hanumanthawaka Junction, Maddilapalem, Gurudwara Junction, Akkayyapalem, Kancharapalem, Muralinagar, Government Polytechnic College, Thatichetlapalem, Kancharapalem, Murali Nagar, GSI, NAD Junction, Visakhapatnam International Airport, Sheela Nagar, BHPV, Auto Nagar and Gajuwaka.

Note: This line is planned to be extended to Vizag Steel Plant by 3.85 kms

Line-2: Gurudwara Junction – Old Post Office

Length: 5.25 km

Type: Elevated

Number of Stations: 6

Station Names: BVK College, RTC Complex, Dabagardens, Saraswati Circle, Poorna Market and Old Post Office.

Line-3: Thatichetlapalem – Chinna Waltair (Chinavalteru / RK Beach)

Length: 6.91 km

Type: Elevated

Number of Stations: 7

Station Names: New Railway Colony, Railway Station, Allipuram Junction, RTC Complex, Siripuram Junction, Andhra University and Chinna Waltair.

Other Proposed Lines

Line-4: Law College Junction – Marikivalasa (8.21 km)

Line-5: Kommadi – Bhogapuram Airport (25.3 km)


The Modern Tram Ways are

Old Post Office to Rusikonda Beach (15.40 km)

NAD Jn. to Pendurthi (10.2 km)

Steel plant Jn. to Anakapalli (18.2 km)

Rusikonda Beach to Bheemili Beach (16.4 km)

Visakhapatnam Metro Route Map (Phase 1)

Official line colors have not been assigned yet. The embedded map below

Visakhapatnam Metro Fares (Ticket Prices)

Vizag Metro’s fare structure, prices, rules and ticket types hasn’t been announced yet. That will be finalized closer to the start of commercial operations.

Visakhapatnam Metro Tenders

Latest Vizag Metro tender notices can be viewed on AMRC’s website. No tenders for its pre-construction work have been invited yet. News on these notices, their bidders and contracts will be covered in further detail on the news & construction page.

Visakhapatnam Metro Contractors

Contract and Contractor

79.91 km new Detailed Project Report (DPR)’s Preparer   Urban Mass Transit Company (UMTC)

The project is set to commence on 15th January 2024. This increased the length of the project to nearly 140 kilometers (metro for nearly 80 kilometers and tram corridors for about 60 kilometers)